The File > Checkpoint command saves the current file to disk and erases its change history and undo history. You can think of this as a "clean" save operation. It has the same effect as saving the file, closing it, and opening it again.
After using Checkpoint, you will not be able to undo any prior changes. Checkpoint also re-arms the file backup feature so that when you save it again, a new backup file is made.